STREAM: Chromatics – Kill For Love

I’m calling it, THIS will be the album that critics are buzzing about come the end of the year. I don’t normally devote whole blog posts just to a stream of an album, but I really feel this NEEDs your attention. It’s a ninety minute slab of meticulously put together synth-pop that’s as smooth as anything and as dark as Hades’ lair. Ruth Radalet’s alluring vocals will hypnotise your unassuming mind, while you ride along a sea of smooth New Order-esque synths. The amount of time and attention to detail that this album has gone through – created over five years in seven different cities across the globe – is quite hard to comprehend.

Johnny Jewel, multi-instrumentalist and producer for the band, provides a thoughtful list of just what went into creating this behemoth, with no less than thirty-six instruments used and a fair share of blood, sweat and tears. I think I’ve gushed over it enough, just do yourself a favour and click play. It’ll be the best thing you do with your day, or week in fact. I’ll write a full review of it when I can get round to it, it’s quite a task for such an album. The whole things available on iTunes, as they launched it as a surprise attack on Monday. If you enjoy any of these things: Late Nights, Drive, New Order, M83 (It feels like I compare every band to M83 in some way, these days), Pioneering Synth Pop, etc. then you’re bound to LOVE this album. Click the play button below to listen to the album in it’s entirety. I’m never usually this enthusiastic about anything. I think I might be ill. ENJOY, YEAH?

Leave a Reply

